Donnerstag Nummer Zwei

Food: Frühstück zum Abendessen “Breakfast for Dinner”

What we had:

  • assortment of rolls (Brötchen) and half loaf of rye bread
  • condiments for the bread: nutella, apricot jam (purchased from the international section @ Wegmans-imported from Germany), honey, cookie butter (not German but still works), and of course butter
  • assortment of cheeses I had on hand (swiss, a hard white, cheddar)
  • soft boiled eggs
  • tomato slices (fresh and dried)
  • fruit (we had cherries, peaches, grapes, and bananas)
  • coffee and fizzy water

What was missing:

  • meat.  For the spread to have been complete I should have included slices of some kind of meat (ham or salami) or even sausage. We didn’t have any, eh what can you do.
  • soft pretzels or pretzel rolls. (the rolls at the store where sold out and I didn’t have it in me to make pretzels)
  • yoghurt.

Admittedly I was more than little proud of myself with this attempt.  In the hot days of summer, and as I personally believe this attitude is only enhanced by living in a small apartment in the “downtown” area of a college town, sometimes the last thing you want to do after full day of work and walking around outside is have something heavy for dinner. After the spaetzel from the week before, and not feeling up for Wurst, I wanted to lighten things up a bit-and bonus, not really have to cook.  The inspiration for this dinner first came from a video on BuzzFeed showing “traditional breakfasts” from around the world.  As I am in love with breakfast, the concept “breakfast for dinner”, trying traditional meals from other countries, and a huge fan of wasting time on BuzzFeed, I was a complete sucker for the video and I decided to explore traditional German breakfast for our German Thursday meal.

“The Research”: mostly consulted several different travel and expat and food blogs, a few reddit threads (and loving the multiple Happy Gilmore references regarding what Shooter McGavin eats for breakfast), and various websites. I came across several different recipes from egg dishes, breads, and pastries, however from was I could surmise, a German Breakfast is more continental in style pulling a lot of what you have on hand and putting in on to the table along with many different kinds of delicious fresh rolls. Also, I was really in the mood to watch Happy Gilmore.

Which is exactly what I did.  The rolls where purchased at the bakery, also placed on the table was loaf of rye purchased earlier in the week and everything else was already in the apartment; I did pick up the jam from the international section (1) since I didn’t have any and (2) superficially I wanted to add just a little something to the meal that was imported.  I spent some time on the presentation – compared to the last Thursday shoveling spaetzel in our mouths from bowls whilst sitting on the couch – and I was pretty pleased.  I don’t have any tablecloths (and improvised bed sheet folded several times and thrown over the coffee table) nor do I own egg cups so the eggs were placed ramekins, but overall I think it was a fair attempt.  The only thing missing was a jar of flowers.

Films:

Mostly Martha: I chose this movie for several different reasons.  Keeping with my inspired work on the meal (despite the very little cooking that happened), this fit the bill for being a romantic comedy and something that would hopefully require little difficulty to follow, and I had seen the American adaptation No Reservations.  Martha is a type A, head chef at a restaurant in Hamburg.  As one of her coworkers will soon be going on temporary leave to have a baby, the owner of the restaurant hires some dude from Italy.  Of course in true Rom-Com fashion Mario (new Italian sous-chef) is the polar opposite of Martha; he has the nerve to change some items on her menu, and much to her chagrin not only is he an amazing cook, but everyone in the kitchen loves him immediately.  In addition to all the things happening at work, Martha’s sister dies in a car accident while on her way to visit Martha leaving behind her young daughter, Lina. Lina stays with Martha while her father in Italy is contacted.  Martha and Lina (who go through a bunch of growing pains together) are brought together with help from Mario, Mario and Martha fall in love, Lina’s father arrives to take her, Martha realizes she wants Lina in her life full time and Martha and Mario go to Italy. It’s happy-sad (and I guess comedic?) and while it isn’t the best movie we’ve watched, I thought it was a good in that it was easy to follow without the help of English subtitles.

Run Lola Run: This film appears on many German Film Lists I’ve seen and was a recommendation from Kelsey’s research advisor and his wife.  Lola has 20 minutes to come up with 100,000 Deutschmarks and get them to her boyfriend Manni.  If he doesn’t produce the money, which he left on the train, he will be killed. The 20 minutes is the time she has to find replacement money and get to Manni before he attempts to rob a grocery store.  This was actually very interesting and I would totally recommend it to anyone as a foreign film or otherwise.  Lola makes a total of three runs, each having a different outcome due to things that occur during the run, and I’ll just leave it at that.  Language-wise this was perfect, not too difficult and I was able to understand with my very limited German.

bis spatter, alison

Leave a Reply

